The HealthInvestor Power 50 2017 will see the 50 most influential individuals in the market select their choices for the following accolades:

Leading investor

The HealthInvestor Power 50 Leading Investor title is awarded to the individual – whether at a private equity firm, family office, REIT or institutional fund – that has spearheaded the most innovative deals or portfolio company exits in 2017

The 2017 entries are:

  • Mike Adams, chief executive, Octopus Healthcare
    Phil Bayliss, head of later living, Legal & General
    John Goodey, senior vice-president – international, Welltower
    Carrie Hiebeler, senior investment officer, Ventas
    Kenneth MacKenzie, managing partner, Target Advisers
    Andrew Ovey, head of healthcare, AXA IM – Real Assets
    David Porter, managing partner, Apposite Capital
    Tim Street, senior adviser, Patron Capital
    Matthew Tooth, managing partner, BC Partners
    Charlie Troup, managing partner, Duke Street
Deal maker

Well executed deals require a quality transactional lead, and the HealthInvestor Power 50 Deal Maker accolade goes to the leading corporate financier or property consultant that investors and operators wanted managing their deal in 2017. 

The 2017 entries are:

  • Issy Corbett, head of healthcare M&A, PwC
  • Justin Crowther, head of healthcare, Catalyst Corporate Finance
  • Tim Edghill, international director and head of European healthcare M&A, JLL
  • Julian Evans, head of healthcare and hotels, Knight Frank
  • Hedley Goldberg, managing director, Rothschild
  • David Jones, head of healthcare and life sciences financial advisory, Deloitte
  • Richard Lunn, managing director – care, Christie & Co
  • Tom Morgan, senior director – healthcare advisory, CBRE
  • Andrew Nicholson, partner, KPMG
  • David Sanders, executive director, DC Advisory
Capital provider

M&A and company expansion just isn’t possible without injections of capital from lenders. This award celebrates the healthcare lead at a bank or alternative capital providers that has been the most supportive to operators and investors in 2017. 

The 2017 entries are:

  • Paul Birley, head of healthcare, Barclays
  • Derek Breingan, head of health and social care, Clydesdale & Yorkshire Bank
  • Patrick Grant, partner, Alpha Real Capital
  • Jeremy Huband, head of healthcare, HSBC
  • Dasos Kirtsides, national head of healthcare – business development, Santander UK
Outstanding leader

Health and social care providers operate in undeniably tough trading conditions and growing companies in this environment require a resilient, visionary and pragmatic leader. The HealthInvestor Power 50 Outstanding Leader prize is given in recognition of the chief executive who encapsulates these qualities and more, and has steered their company most successfully through the year. 

The 2017 entries are:

  • Iain Anderson, group chief executive, NFA Group
  • Jane Ashcroft, chief executive, Anchor Trust
  • Pete Calveley, chief executive, Barchester Healthcare
  • Andrew Cannon, chief executive, Voyage Care
  • Joy Chamberlain, chief executive Elysium Healthcare
  • Steve Gray, chief executive, Nuffield Health
  • Avnish Goyal, managing director, Hallmark Care Homes
  • Mike Neeb, chief executive, HCA Healthcare UK
  • Mike Parish, chief executive, Care UK
  • Jeremy Richardson, chief executive, brighterkind
  • Nick Sanderson, chief executive, Audley Retirement
  • Tony Stein, chief executive, Healthcare Management Solutions
  • John Strowbridge, managing director, Avery Healthcare
  • Daya Thayan, chief executive, Kingsley Healthcare
  • Trevor Torrington, chief executive, Priory Group
Sector specialist

Necessary to every deal or company expansion plan, because of their deep sector knowledge, are the due diligence advisors. The HealthInvestor Power 50 Sector Specialist award is presented to the advisor who has shown themselves most indispensable on transactions or as a source of strategic advice in 2017.

The 2017 entries are:

  • Clare Connell, managing director, Connell Consulting
  • Giles Johnson, partner, CIL
  • Andrew McKechnie, private health sector lead, PwC
  • Leonid Shapiro, managing partner, Candesic
  • Jonathan Sparey, head of Europe, LEK Consulting
Non-executive director

The HealthInvestor Power 50 NED prize is given to an individual who has shown themselves to be a dynamic, must-have non-executive director or chairman of a care company by being the perfect foil to the executive teams and an invaluable font of knowledge.  

The 2017 entries are:

  • Robbie Barr
  • Mike Parsons
  • Chai Patel
  • Douglas Quinn
  • Ted Smith
Ones to Watch

The 2017 shortlist:

  • Binni Adu, chartered surveyor, CBRE
  • Jonathan Clark, group finance director, Core Assets
  • Jayne Davey, chief operating officer, Voyage Care
  • Christian Dubé, director, August Equity
  • John Gladstone, director, JLL
  • Nicolas Mallet, partner, Antin Infrastructure Partners
  • Lorraine McGarry-Wall, chief operating officer, brighterkind
  • James Mesquitta, head of corporate healthcare finance, Santander UK Corporate & Commercial
  • Caroline Smith, chief executive assurance officer, Nuffield Health
  • Michael Voges, executive director, ARCO
Grand Prix

Picked by both the Power 50 shortlist themselves and by readers’ votes, the HealthInvestor Power 50 Grand Prix is awarded to the person, regardless of speciality, who has been deemed to have had the best year in healthcare. 

Methodology and the voting process

The sector’s most influential leaders will be split into their areas of expertise and then, before the night itself, they will be ranked via blind ballot by the other members of the HealthInvestor Power 50.

By introducing peer recognition into the Power 50 process, we expect this new format to provide the truest possible representation of where the influence lies amongst the sector’s key movers and shakers.

The Grand Prix Award, the top award for the individual who’s deemed to have had the most successful year, will be voted for jointly by both the Power 50 and the HealthInvestor community.

September 2017

  • Finalists’ announced across 7 categories covering all areas of independent healthcare

October 2017

  • Voting commences. All finalists vote for their peers in the remaining 6 categories
  • Readers vote for who they believe should win the Grand Prix Award 2017
  • Each of the Power Fifty nominate 1 rising star for the ‘One to watch’ category
Unveiling the Power Fifty 2017

November 2017

Winners announced for each of the categories at the annual Power Fifty gala dinner at Gibson Hall on the 22 November 2017.

The accolades include:

  • Leading investor
  • Deal Maker
  • Capital provider
  • Outstanding leader
  • Sector specialist
  • Non-executive director
  • HealthInvestor Power Fifty Grand Prix
  • One to Watch (sponsored by Kingsley Healthcare)

To attend, book your table here

Ones to Watch sponsored by Kingsley Healthcare

It is important to not only celebrate the players at the top of their game in the world of healthcare, but also those up and coming individuals who will be the influencers of the future. So in recognition of these people, the HealthInvestor Power Fifty One to Watch crowns the sector star of the future from a shortlist put forward by the Power Fifty.